EnjoySharePoint YouTube Channel

List of SharePoint Event Model in SharePoint Server 2010

In this post, we will discuss various SharePoint event model in SharePoint server 2010.

Get Office 365 Enterprise E3 Or Business Premium Subscription & Try out all the features

SharePoint 2016 Tutorial Contents

List of SharePoint Event Model

Following the List of SharePoint Event Model:

  • Before and After Events
  • Event Hosts
  • Event Receivers and Handling Events
  • Binding Event Handlers

Before and After Events

These events fire before an action occur and before SharePoint has written any data to the content database. For this reason, Before events are always synchronous.

You can identify Before events because their member names end with the “-ing” suffix – for example, ItemAdding, ListAdding.

After events, on the other hand, trigger event handlers that execute after user actions are committed to the content database and they invoke code that runs after the content database has been modified. This provides an opportunity to develop code that executes logic that occurs after a user has completed a specific action.

Because After events execute in a different process from the triggering action, they can execute either synchronously or asynchronously. You can identify After events because their member names end with the “-ed” suffix – for example, ItemDeleted, WebProvisioned.

Event Hosts

Event hosts are objects, such as site collections, Webs, lists and list items, that expect to receive events – or, in other words, objects whose event receivers “listen” for SharePoint Foundation events. These SharePoint Foundation 2010 event host object types include instances of common objects such as SPSite, SPWeb, SPList, and SPContentType.

Each of the event host types has specific event receiver base types from which you can inherit, to create an event receiver collection.

Event Receivers and Handling Events

SharePoint Foundation event handlers are a compiled module of custom managed code whose invocation is triggered by a specified event that you have specified. Event handler code is compiled into a .dll file and deployed to the GAC.

Binding Event Handlers

After your event handler code is compiled and deployed to the GAC, you need to bind it to a receiver object. Also known by the term “register,” binding is the process by which event handler code is associated with an object type.

Following Event types:

– Site Events
– Web Events
– List Events
– List Field Events
– Item Events

You may like following SharePoint event receivers tutorials:

Hope this SharePoint 2010 tutorial gives an idea on List of SharePoint Event Model in SharePoint Server 2010.

Check out Best Alternative to InfoPath -> Try Now
You May Also like the Following SharePoint Tutorials:

About Navneet Singh

I am Navneet Singh, Working at C3it software solutions pvt. ltd. in Pune. My core skills are SharePoint 2013, Office 365, SharePoint 2010, SharePoint Designer, SharePoint Designer Workflow, Nintex Workflow, Infopath, Webpart, CSOM/SSOM, Power-shell, C#, ASP.NET and SQL Server.

View all posts by Navneet Singh →